Radley History Club logo

About Radley History Club

Programme How to join Latest news Projects Committee Archivist Constitution Privacy policy

Radley History Club was founded by the late Joy Alexander in May 1997 and now has some 70 members. Its tenth anniversary was celebrated with an exhibition in Radley Village Hall in May 2007 featuring all aspects of the history of Radley. Its aims are to:

  • study the history of Radley and the surrounding area
  • pursue any historical activity that the members may desire from time to time.

The annual subscription is £12 (payable from the AGM in September) or £6 for those joining after 1 March. Guests are welcome at all meetings. The guest fee is £2.50 (guest fees are refundable if you become a member during the Club year). How to join

The Club organises a series of speakers on local and historical topics for its monthly meetings. In December there is a Christmas social event and a visit or tour of a local building/place of interest is often arranged during the Club year. Programme

Meetings are normally on the second Monday evening of each month (apart from August when there is no meeting) in the hall at Radley Church of England Primary School in Church Road, Radley, Oxfordshire OX14 3QF. Doors open at 7 pm for a 7.30 pm start.

Parking is available in the car park serving Radley Parish Church and Radley Primary School. The entrance to the car park is on the other side of the pond to the drive to the Church Room, the School House and the school. Disabled parking is available in the staff car park by the main school building.

The Club is a member of the British Association of Local History (BALH), Oxfordshire Local History Association and Oxfordshire Buildings Record.

Entrance to Radley primary School
Club meetings are held at Radley Primary School.
Please use the Children's Entrance.
Committee 2018-2019
Chairman Richard Dudding
Tel: 01235 520611
Email: chairman@radleyhistoryclub.org.uk
Vice-chairman and
Membership Secretary
Joyce Huddleston
Tel: 01235 52486
Email: membership@radleyhistoryclub.org.uk
Treasurer Charlie Milward
Tel: 01235 530611
Email: treasurer@radleyhistoryclub.org.uk
Programme Secretary Jenny Lee
Tel: 01235 799374
Email: programme@radleyhistoryclub.org.uk
Committee secretary Sally Hemsworth
Other committee members Ann Blake
  Tony Gillman
  Nicholas Lawrence
  Harriet Moggridge
Archivist Richard Dudding
Tel: 01235 520611
Email: archives@radleyhistoryclub.org.uk
Accessibility Privacy policy